Stellar Line-up of Grand Slam Champs to Highlight Brisbane International 2019 at Tennyson

Brisbane International
Photo credit: Brisbane International/YouTube

It will be a star-studded tennis spectacle in Brisbane as seven Grand Slam champions converge at Queensland Tennis Centre in Tennyson for Brisbane International 2019.

Leading the pack is world number 2 Rafael Nadal, who is ready to challenge Novak Djokovic for the world number 1 ranking. Nadal first featured in Brisbane International in 2017, with fans filling up the Queensland Tennis Centre.

“I am really looking forward to starting another season in Brisbane. I’m so excited to be coming back in 2019,” said Nadal.

number works n' words Ad

“The field is always strong and the venue is amazing.”

Rafa, who missed the last couple of months of the 2018 season due to injury, is on track to recovery and is currently playing at the Mubadala World Tennis Championship. He will be playing in Brisbane, then travel to Sydney as part of his preparation for the Australian Open in Melbourne.

“I’m looking forward to coming back to Brisbane, it’s such a great tournament and is always played in front of amazing fans,” Nadal added.

Tower Ad

Other Grand Slam champs starting their summer in Brisbane are Andy Murray (GBR), Sloane Stephens (USA), Petra Kvitova (CZE), Jelena Ostapeno (LAT) and Sam Stosur (QLD).

Fans are also sure to have their eyes on Naomi Osaka, who made headlines after winning her first Grand Slam when she beat Serena Williams in the controversial 2018 US Open.

Osaka arrived in Australia on Christmas Eve.

Brisbane International Andy Murray Naomi Osaka
Andy Murray and Naomi Osaka all set for Brisbane International 2019 (Photo credit: naomiosakatennis/Instagram)

Defending men’s champion Nick Kyrgios (ACT) will also be coming back to Brisbane to defend his title. Brisbane’s own, and undoubtedly crowd favourite, John Millman will also feature at this year’s Brisbane International.

Official field for the 2019 Brisbane International:

Men – includes world rankings

Rafael Nadal (ESP) – No.2
Andy Murray (GBR) – No.2 ** Entry Protected
Kei Nishikori (JPN) – No.9
Kyle Edmund (GBR) – No.14
Daniil Medvedev (RUS) – No.16
Milos Raonic (CAN) – No.18
Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) – No.19
Alex De Minaur (NSW) – No.31
John Millman (Qld) – No.34
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) – No.34** Entry Protected
Nick Kyrgios (ACT) – No.36
Jeremy Chardy (FRA) – No.40
Taylor Fritz (USA) – No.49
Ryan Harrison (USA) – No.47
Leonardo Mayer (ARG) – No.56
Jan-Lennard Struff (GER) – No.57
Tennys Sandgren (USA) – No.61
Denis Kudla (USA) – No.63
Aljaz Bedene (SLO) – No.67
Mischa Zverev (GER) – No.69
Jordan Thompson (NSW) – No.72

Women – includes world rankings

Elina Svitolina (UKR) – No.4
Naomi Osaka (JPN) – No.5
Sloane Stephens (USA) – No.6
Petra Kvitova (CZE) – No. 7
Karolina Pliskova (CZE) – No.8
Kiki Bertens (NED) – No.9
Daria Kasatkina (RUS) – No.10
Anastasija Sevastova (LAT) – No.12
Elise Mertens (BEL) – No.13
Anna Kontaveit (EST) – No.21
Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP) – No.23
Mihaela Buzarnescu (ROU) – No.24
Camila Giorgi (ITA) – No.26
Lesia Tsurenko (UKR) – No.27
Aliaksandra Sasnovich (BLR) – No.30
Katerina Siniakova (CZE) – No.31
Donna Vekic (CRO) – No.34
Danielle Collins (USA) – No.35
Daria Gavrilova (Vic) – No.36
Johanna Konta (GBR) – No.37
Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) – No.43
Yulia Putintseva (KAZ) – No.45
Samantha Stosur (AUS) – No.73 (WC)

Watching the games at  Ticket holders can avail of free transport to and from Queensland Tennis Centre via Queensland Rail train and Brisbane Transport bus services.